What are the penalties for a third DUI charge in Maryland?
The penalties for a third DUI charge in Maryland are considerably more severe than those applied for a first or even second charge, ranging from $500 to $4,000. It’s highly advisable that you enlist the assistance of a Maryland drunk driving defense lawyer if you are facing a third or subsequent alcohol-related charge.
You may be charged up to $3,000 in administrative fines and penalties, and as much as $4,000 if there was a minor in the vehicle with you when you were pulled over.
Criminal penalties that you may face include a term of imprisonment of up to 3 years, or 4 years if a minor was in the car at the time of the violation. Additionally, your driver’s license will be automatically suspended for a period of 18 months.
Conversely, for a third or subsequent DWI infraction, you may be fined as much as $500. You may be imprisoned in jail for up to 12 months, and your driver’s license can be suspended for 60 days or more, given the circumstances of your violation.
It’s important to mention that the “lookback period” in Maryland is 5 years, which means that if you have 2 prior DUI or alcohol-related traffic offenses on your driving record in the last 5 years, then the aforementioned penalties will apply. If, however, only 1 of your previous offenses falls within the last 5 years, then your current infraction will count as your second offense, not your third.
In Maryland, crimes with a jail sentence of 12 months or less are considered misdemeanors, whereas those with a jail sentence of over 12 months are considered felonies.
Contact a Maryland Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer
When you don’t take action to protect your rights after a DUI charge in Maryland, you can lose them. The DUI defense lawyers from Jimeno & Gray, P.A., include former Assistant State’s Attorneys who thoroughly understand and can harness the inner workings of the Maryland criminal justice system. To best protect your rights in the face of a serious criminal charge, contact us today for a consultation – (410) 590-9401.
If you have been charged with a DWI or DUI, you should download a FREE copy of our book, The ABCs Of DWIs In Maryland before talking to a lawyer. Our experienced DWI defense attorneys serve the following areas in Maryland:
Anne Arundel County, Glen Burnie, Pasadena, Severna Park, Arnold, Millersville, Annapolis, South Gate, Howard County, Ellicott City, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Prince George’s County, Odenton, Crofton, Towson, Brooklyn Park, Essex, Dundalk, Riviera Beach, Green Haven, Bowie, Greenbelt, College Park, Beltsville, Severn, Jessup, Upper Marlboro, Olney, Columbia, Linthicum Heights, Elkridge, Arbutus, and Pikesville.
Meet Our Lawyers
Gregory P. Jimeno, Esquire
Frank C. Gray, Jr., Esquire.
Magaly Delisse Bittner, Esquire
Jessica McConnell, Esquire