What penalties do I face if I receive an Annapolis, MD DUI on Christmas?
If you get an Annapolis, MD DUI on Christmas, you are likely stressed, upset and confused as to what you are supposed to do. Not only do you have to deal with the feelings of receiving such a charge, you’ll also have to experience the risk of facing certain penalties, as well. Here, a lawyer reveals what you are facing when you receive a Maryland drunk-driving charge.
First DUI Conviction
The first time you receive an Anne Arundel County DUI, your license is suspended for at least six months. Additionally, you could receive up to one year in jail and $1,000 in fines. If you were transporting a minor when you received your charges, you face up to two years in jail and $2,000 in fines.
Second DUI Conviction
If this is your second time receiving a Maryland DUI, your penalties become a bit more stiff. Along with having your license suspended for at least a year, you could serve two years in jail and have to pay $2,000 in fines. The penalties go up to three years in jail and $3,000 in fines if you were transporting a minor at the time of your traffic stop.
Third DUI Conviction
Those who receive three or more Maryland DUIs could spend up to three years in jail and pay $3,000 in fines. If transporting a minor during the time, they could face four years in prison and $4,000 in fines. Additionally, their licenses are also suspended for at least 18 months.
If you received an Annapolis, MD DUI on Christmas, you’ll need an attorney on your side. An Anne Arundel County DUI lawyer can help you understand what you are facing and devise a plan in an attempt to stop you from receiving such penalties.
For more information and to request your free copy of the book The ABCs of DWIs in Maryland, written by lawyer Gregory Jimeno, call the law offices of Jimeno and Gray at (410) 590-9401.
Meet Our Team
Gregory P. Jimeno, Esquire
Frank C. Gray, Jr., Esquire.
Magaly Delisse Bittner, Esquire
Jessica McConnell, Esquire
Office Manager and Funding Coordinator